PERSONAL PROJECT – OPTION 2 – Site Specific piece – Development of ideas 2

 

I am using my blog in a different way for the personal project. Previously I have posted information and details once I had completed the work however for this project, probably due to the scale and complexity of it, I am using it as a journal to record my thoughts and progress as they happen.

Having sourced “sustainable” paper last week from TN Lawrence and now received it I have made some initial sketches and a plan of how I intend the work to look.

I have played around with ideas for the format and have settled on a large and long, but not deep, “snake” format to hang in the centre of The Divinity Hall. I still need to work out how this would hang.

IMG_9538

Having settled on this design I worked out all the other areas that I need to include in the work, the sustainability and ethical aspect, my personal and conceptual ideas, the influence and including of the building so that it is in context. I found doing a mind map of the requirements the best way to resolve this.

I still need to finalise the design but I am a lot further forward and have been able to source materials and areas of sustainability that I intend to cover ;-

SUSTAINABIITY ASPECTS

1 – Hemp and organic cotton – for the patchwork section, representing sustainable crops.

2 – Kozo Japanese paper – this is the most sustainable of the Japanese papers due to Kozo being the most easily renewable crop. It is also a product that is hand crafted – a nod towards traditional craft as part of sustainable design. Japanese paper is good to use generally as it contains long plant fibres making it strong as well as a more pleasing product to use that mass produced papers. I will use this for some paper patchwork pieces and also for the inserts in the fabric ones. I intend to wax some these for protection as these ties in with my overall concept of preserving the English Language which is “patched” together through generations and with other cultural influences.

3 – Scroll “fabric” with digital print – This fabric is a Japanese anti-tear product made from recycled plastic bottles. The digital print is a clean process and one that we are consider to the future of design. The paper represents recycling but also possibly a material of the future and the digital print refers to better processes. It is also an interesting contrast to the other Japanese fabric.

4 – Recycling – I will be using unwanted Oxford University Dictionaries as some of the design elements and also for some of the substrate. This represents recycling and found items.

5 – Processes –  

  • Digital printing – using scanned and Photoshop altered images of dictionaries, old Bodleian print and my own photographs.
  • Traditional crafts – patchwork
  • Traditional craft – smocking
  • Traditional craft – pleating.
  • Traditional craft – shibori – undecided on this one as it will be on paper and I need to experiment first.
This entry was posted in 3 Developing your piece, LEVEL 2 - TEXTILES 2 : Contemporary Practice, Option 2 - A site-specific piece, PART 5 Personal project. Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

