EXERCISE – VISUALISING YOUR DESIGN 2

BRIEF –

  • Use – digital textile repeats or visual material from portfolio ( scanned)
  • Ideas and exploration in sketchbook
  • Create ;-

at least 2 fashion drawings – with textile design or at least 2  in situ visualisation  – with artwork or textile design – such as interior or exterior space.

  • Print at least two
  • Upload to OCA
  • Write evaluation
  • Consider
  1. present a collection?
  2. Realistic illustration of work in context or just impression?
  3. Image – appropriate to design?
  4. Copy and paste artwork – rescale/distort/perspective

Previously I was unsure if I would use my designs for fashion illustrations or for interiors but this question answered itself as I continued to work on and refine my designs having received the first samples back from the digital print studio. As I reconfigured them to better proportions they took on the feel of a retro interiors collection which felt very natural and familiar to me having worked in Chelsea Harbour at the Design Centre for some years prior to having a family. It was then that I decided to focus my designs as if I were designing for a high end fabric house and pulled together my best designs for a co-ordinating collection. I sourced imagery through 2 ways – initially I was looking for pictures via the internet of the Design Centre but only realised when it came to importing my designs why the brief indicated magazines and books as these are printed in DPI and not pixels as on the internet. In a commercial environment I would take these photos myself by visiting the centre or source them via a photostock library but for the purposes of the exercise I decided to use magazine adverts from glossy interiors magazines like World of Interiors etc instead. Again there was a tremendous amount of learning and concentration required to complete this exercise as I didn’t know the technique I should use. My first sample, although looks adequate at first glance, is not very sophisticated as I couldn’t scale the design or add any perspective as I was using the techniques I had used before and it was too limiting. I wanted my visualisations to look more realistic and therefore more professional but I knew this would take more effort to achieve. I then tried importing designs with a complete failure and total frustration. My only option then was to be logical about it and start applying designs to a black and white drawing and then when I had mastered that and understood the process could I then think of ways I could apply the technique to a more complex image.

1 made a discovery whilst trying out a way to insert pattern. I can in fill with a black line (but can't in fill with white)

1 made a discovery whilst trying out a way to insert pattern. I can in fill with a black line (but can’t in fill with white)

2 use a line drawing that I had scanned to practice inserting imagery - works well.

2 use a line drawing that I had scanned to practice inserting imagery – works well.

3 - use the line drawing to edit and paste and manipulate and distort techniques. Vey good practice.

3 – use the line drawing to edit and paste and manipulate and distort techniques. Vey good practice.

4 Apply what I have learnt to a photo.

4 Apply what I have learnt to a photo.

 

I’m not sure that I have used the correct technique, but I have used a technique that works and is flexible enough to apply, distort, scale and manipulate the designs. I have recorded my stages of learning in the sketchbook but again I feel some professional training for “correct methods” or even short cuts would be beneficial for future use.

All visualisations have been uploaded to OCA Digital Textiles and Outcomes.

http://www.oca-student.com/content/digital-textiles-and-outcomes

 

FIRST SAMPLE - exploration sample - First impressions are okay but the technique is too limiting so I can't  rescale, distort or add perspective.

FIRST SAMPLE – exploration sample – First impressions are okay but the technique is too limiting so I can’t rescale, distort or add perspective.

EXPLORATION SAMPLE - importing designs and rescaling. Starting to try distortion techniques for the bedcover but can't get it to bend enough.

EXPLORATION SAMPLE – importing designs and rescaling. Starting to try distortion techniques for the bedcover but can’t get it to bend enough.

EXPLORATION SAMPLE - better pattern matching under the desk as I discover as special edit paste tool

EXPLORATION SAMPLE – better pattern matching under the desk as I discover as special edit paste tool

EXPLORATION SAMPLE - importing and distorting a pattern in sections to look more realistic

EXPLORATION SAMPLE – importing and distorting a pattern in sections to look more realistic

 

FINAL SAMPLE - ADVERT FOR HIGH END FABRIC HOUSE  - showcasing collection of fabrics and using edit and paste techniques, distortion and perspective.

FINAL SAMPLE – ADVERT FOR HIGH END FABRIC HOUSE – showcasing collection of fabrics and using edit and paste techniques, distortion and perspective.

FINAL SAMPLE - showroom presentation blue fabrics

FINAL SAMPLE – showroom presentation blue fabrics

FINAL SAMPLE - showroom presentation brown fabrics

FINAL SAMPLE – showroom presentation brown fabrics

FINAL SAMPLE - showroom presentation green fabrics

FINAL SAMPLE – showroom presentation green fabrics

 

There are 4 final samples. One “advert” retro stylised room set showing a collection of fabrics in different applications and perspectives. It appears busy and unrealistic as a room set but often these types of adverts are showcasing a collection and tend to be complex. I feel I have used my skills very well for this sample with my only criticisms being that I can’t draw very straight lines with a mouse so perhaps a graphics pad might help for this type of work in the future. The other 3 samples are 3 of a kind. I have used am interiors image to convey the feeling of a fabric showroom displaying large scale fabric panels and have made good use of special edit and paste techniques and perspective transformation tools. I have spent many hours learning, what I feel are only the basics of Photoshop, but I can see my progress very clearly. At times I have really not enjoyed it but I have remained focused and determined to complete it as best as I can. I am now looking forward to using some hand skills once again and have already ordered some samples to be printed in advance to arrive shortly so that I can get on as soon as possible.

This entry was posted in LEVEL 2 - P4 - Digital textiles - Assignment feedback - Digital textiles, LEVEL 2 - P4 - Digital textiles - Project - Visualisation, LEVEL 2 - P4 - Digital textiles - Project - Visualisation - Exercise - Visualising your designs 2, LEVEL 2 - TEXTILES 2 : Contemporary Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

