RESEARCH POINT – examples of repeating structures.

Brief –

  1. Find examples of different repeat structures.
  2. Using published literature and online tutorials, research how design software can create repeats that are interesting.

I can recognise repeating patterns as I learnt this some years ago but my designing skills are limited to the old fashioned paper way so putting what I know into practice will take some retraining although I hope it will  be useful. Online tutorials are not particulary brilliant so I have decided to rely on books.I have been trying to get a copy the this book but its appears to be a rareity in the book shops and now selling at £160. Instead I have purchased 2 other books “Digital Textile design” Melanie Bowles and “Textile printing and design” Laurie Wisbrun and I hope these will be useful.

Repeat Patterns: A Manual for Designers, Artists and Architects -  Peter Philips

Repeat Patterns: A Manual for Designers, Artists and Architects – Peter Philips

For the purposes of this exercise I have found examples of repeat patterns online until I am more familiar with Photoshop .

Examples of repeat patterns

Block repeat

Block repeat

Half drop repeat

Half drop repeat

Brick repeat

Brick repeat

mirror 1

Ogee repeat

Ogee repeat

Tessellating repeat  (Pegasus - Escher)

Tessellating repeat (Pegasus – Escher)

Spot repeat - look at grid for the spot design, sometimes called sateen repeat.

Spot repeat – look at grid for the spot design, sometimes called sateen repeat.

I have so very much to learn !

This entry was posted in LEVEL 2 - P4 - Digital textiles - Assignment feedback - Digital textiles, LEVEL 2 - P4 - Digital textiles - Project - Putting a design into repeat - Research point - Repeating structures, LEVEL 2 - TEXTILES 2 : Contemporary Practice, Project 2- Putting a design into repeat. Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

