EXERCISE – Telling a story – samples and evaluation

BRIEF –

  • Explore the possibilities of combining text with some visual ideas in the portfolio. Use found words or created words but consider the impact the words create.
  • Develop one into a larger piece.
  • Documentation of ideas that has informed the outcome is important.

Perhaps it was as a result of the previous exercises focusing on photoshop and the use of photocopies for example that a large section of my samples have a lean towards a graphics feel. They may have done anyway simply because of the use of text but I felt I was working within a very restricted range of material. By using the work of another artist and then combining it with text to add a “story”  meant that I needed to understand why they had created a piece of work, what their inspiration was or simply use the title as a starting point. Overall I am pleased with my samples, some more than others as I feel I researched the ideas behind their work well and built on it to make it mine. Others have less depth but are still successful in their own way.  For me the biggest constraint and consideration was making the text look like text and but also well-presented and so relying on the photocopier and printer, and therefore paper, as I might do screen printing onto fabric when in a studio situation.

I have fully explained my thinking behind my approach for each sample and documented my path in my sketchbook. I think this documentation is important for anyone else to understand my ideas but also feel  slightly disappointed as my work should really speak for itself as I feel its fails if it has to be explained. A bit like a poorly recited joke.

Manipulated colourway in photoshop and hand printed a Moore quote about drawing from nature.

Manipulated colourway in photoshop and hand printed a Moore quote about drawing from nature.

Original title is called Hoarding so I used this as a theme and chose the include the word ADVERTISE as a reference to hoarding

Original title is called Hoarding so I used this as a theme and chose the include the word ADVERTISE as a reference to hoarding

Detail

Detail

 

Sample 3 Using the same collage torn paper approach in the original by ROBYN DENNY a background was created and text added with a graphic acetate scan of the original and a magazine section of paper.

Sample 3 Using the same collage torn paper approach in the original by ROBYN DENNY a background was created and text added with a graphic acetate scan of the original and a magazine section of paper.

Using the same collages torn paper approach in the original by ROBYN DENNY a background was cfreated and text added with a graphic acetate scan of the original and a magazine section of paper.

Using the same collages torn paper approach in the original by ROBYN DENNY a background was cfreated and text added with a graphic acetate scan of the original and a magazine section of paper.

 

SAMPLE 1 Using a description about Henry Moore's word and the words "abstract nude female form /holes/piercing" I used one of his female images and created 2 samples using the text, the image in an abstract way and cutting holes.

SAMPLE 1 Using a description about Henry Moore’s word and the words “abstract nude female form /holes/piercing” I used one of his female images and created 2 samples using the text, the image in an abstract way and cutting holes.

SAMPLE 2

SAMPLE 2

SAMPLE 2 detail

SAMPLE 2 detail

 

JON PALLACH - great story behind this one - it really drew me in to discover more. Quotes I found relating to the story gave me the text to use "TORCH NUMER 1" Is how he signed his suicide note before setting himself on fire and the "fire coloured" writing is the belief and reason he had for making such a political statement.

JON PALLACH – great story behind this one – it really drew me in to discover more. Quotes I found relating to the story gave me the text to use “TORCH NUMER 1” Is how he signed his suicide note before setting himself on fire and the “fire coloured” writing is the belief and reason he had for making such a political statement.

Detail

Detail

Text from Pitt Rivers relating to Edward Lovett's amulets used a  background and made translucent with resin. Images stitched on. The white paper underneath shows the effect of the resin on the paper.

Text from Pitt Rivers relating to Edward Lovett’s amulets used a background and made translucent with resin. Images stitched on. The white paper underneath shows the effect of the resin on the paper.

Detail

Detail

Inspiration came from a blue linen textile purse containing folded parchment prayers as an amulet. This is my response using modern prayers onto paper than I made "parchment" and folded.

Inspiration came from a blue linen textile purse containing folded parchment prayers as an amulet. This is my response using modern prayers onto paper than I made “parchment” and folded.

Detail

Detail

SAMPLE 9 Using Schwitter's RAILWAY COLLAGE as inspiration and a scanned image in photoshop I responded with railway tickets and "tickets please" in 2 type faces to represent the train guards.

SAMPLE 9 Using Schwitter’s RAILWAY COLLAGE as inspiration and a scanned image in photoshop I responded with railway tickets and “tickets please” in 2 type faces to represent the train guards.

Detail

Detail

SAMPLE 10 taking the study of the parallel lives of 2 artists this sample was created using the word parallel as the inspiration.

SAMPLE 10 taking the study of the parallel lives of 2 artists this sample was created using the word parallel as the inspiration.

Detail

Detail

Using the excess beads from the earlier sample, I cast the broken bits into resin to make "beads" and machine stitched onto the calico making a reference to the beaded necklace oft he original image.

Using the excess beads from the earlier sample, I cast the broken bits into resin to make “beads” and machine stitched onto the calico making a reference to the beaded necklace oft he original image.

The more resolved sample was using “Word row” by Robyn Denny

Original image WORD ROW by ROBYN DENNY 1957

Original image WORD ROW by ROBYN DENNY 1957

Initially I was drawn to it as it already had the elements for a text related sample however after some further research I had more ideas to incorporate. I used the concept behind Denny’s choice of title as my inspiration as “Word row” is a palindrome, a word or sentence that can be read from both sides. I researched several palindrome sentences until I found one that was appropriate to the artwork. “Never odd or even” can be read both ways and I felt it was suitable as some of the stencil cards used for letters were ordered “oddly” and back to front and they were not arranged “evenly”. I have used the original colour palette and in places in reverse format.

Final sample

Final sample

Detail

Detail

Detail

Detail

 

The following 2 ideas I have not sent as I am still working on the development but for interest I have included them here.

1 – Ceramic hag stones – part of the chant has been stamped into the porcelain clay and the second picture shows experiments with making ceramic feathers.

 

IMG_8225 IMG_8226

 

2 – Resin rings – as I had some resin left over that was not mixed very well rather than waste it I decided to use a savarin mould to enclosed some machine stitched text around the idea of protection.

IMG_8207

This entry was posted in LEVEL 2 - P3 - Working from museums - Project - Storytelling with imagery and text, LEVEL 2 - P3 - Working from museums - Project - Storytelling with imagery and text - Exercise - Telling a story, LEVEL 2 - P3 - Working from museums - Project - Storytelling with imagery and text - Exercise - Telling a story, LEVEL 2 - TEXTILES 2 : Contemporary Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

