EXERCISE – Exploring the possibilties

Evaluation

Digital textiles is a new skill area for me and one that I am keen to embrace as I know as we move forward it will become increasingly more dominant in the world of textile production. My training to date stops at the technical stage of screen printing and hand painting screens with Kodatrace and hand pulling the screens. It still remains a rewarding way to work but I recognise that as the textile industry moves forward, like every other industry, the use of IT offers new possibilities. I don’t envisage myself being reliant on IT software to produce designs, unless it is for the design of commercially and digitally produced repeating designs but I can see opportunities for scanning hand drawn work and that being printed digitally.

My samples are basic as they are intended to be at this point, being an introduction to a more in depth section later on. But it was interesting to me to see that in a short space of time I was already thinking of ways to use the suggested ideas to explore further.

I don’t have Adobe Photoshop but I used a photographers version for an hour just to familiarise myself with the basics. I was frustrated to say the least as it was clear it wasn’t as straight forward as I had hoped and how it is used by a photographer is different to my needs but it was a good introduction.

My samples are;-

Black and white

  • Greyscale version of the coloured image showing the tonal gradations.
  • Inverted (reversed) greyscale version of the coloured image showing the tonal variations.
  • Black and white (Threshold) – manipulating it slightly on the scale to give textures.

IMG_7833

Making a colourway –  This was tricky and needed some good analytical skills to work it out properly.

My first image was a painting in similar colours, chosen as there weren’t many colours to experiment with and what I learnt very quickly was that I was able to produce monochrome colourways but not necessarily other colour colourways as by choosing a mix of colours I was also changing the tonal value.

IMG_7834

After that I then looked for an image, again by an artist as I felt manipulating a 2D image was more suitable for this kind of approach that had more defined edges rather than painterly ones and an image that also had a broad colour selection. Keeping the tonal balance was the biggest challenge as I noticed as I changed the colour sometimes the tone changed too much and I also found that by squinting slightly and referring back to the earlier grey scale version I was able to alter the colours and keep the balance of tones. I also repeated the black and white exercise for the first chosen sample.

  • Greyscale version of the coloured image showing the tonal gradations.
  • Inverted (reversed) greyscale version of the coloured image showing the tonal variations.
  • Black and white (Threshold) – manipulating it slightly on the scale to give textures.
  • 3 colourways for each original image – 3 monochrome colourways and 3 true colourway options.

IMG_7835

IMG_7836Working with repeated patterns

I needed to complete this by hand rather than printing it off as a completed design but that was a useful exercise in itself as I played around with different options.

  • Block repeat
  • Half drop repeat
  • Block repeat – each image rotated by 90 degrees
  • Half drop repeat – alternate image rotated by 180 degrees.
  • Block repeat – using positive and negative  black and white images taken from the larger scale page print
  • Half drop repeat – using positive and negative  black and white images taken from the larger scale page print.

IMG_7837

IMG_7838Changing the scale

For this option I used the above information that I had learnt very quickly through experimentation to help select a suitable image that I knew would work when using the black and white threshold option. It also became clear through experiments  that I had to check the properties of the saved images as so many of them, particularly from the Tate were small and weren’t suitable for enlarging (right click for image properties)

I enlarged the image to A4 page size and printed it in black and white and also reversed the image and printed it to page size. I then took both to a copy shop and enlarged them again. I did this for 2 reasons, to get the large A3 paper and therefore larger scale but mainly because using the home printer the image was breaking up into pixels so I wanted to enlarge the existing enlarged image rather than enlarge it again on my printer and loose definition altogether.  I also used this larger scale to print onto acetate to try different colour options beneath.

Samples were

  • Page size A4 black and white threshold
  • Page size A4 black and white threshold reversed
  • Page size A3 black and white threshold enlarge image
  • Page size A3 black and white threshold  reversed enlarged image
  • Page size A3 black and white threshold reversed enlarged image on acetate over colours – papers used were recycled tissues and some hand painted/printed papers of my own creation.

IMG_7839

IMG_7841

IMG_7842

Exploring positive and negative possibilities

  • Block repeat pattern using both positive and negative section taken from the enlarged image. Blocks are turned alternatively through 90 degrees.
  • Half drop repeat pattern using positive and negative section taken from the enlarged image.
  • Black and white enlarged image on A4 over 2 translucent layers.
  • Black and white enlarged image on A4 used over the same image on the back ground but turned through 180 degrees.
  • IMG_7840

IMG_7846Other comments

I need to investigate a short course in Photoshop in preparation for Digital textiles later on so I don’t waste any more time being frustrated with it!

This entry was posted in LEVEL 2 - P3 - Working from museums - Project - Experimenting with imagery - Exercise - Exploring the possibilties, LEVEL 2 - P3 - Working from museums - Project - Storytelling with imagery and text, LEVEL 2 - P3 - Working from museums - Project -Experimenting with imagery - Exercise - Exploring the possibilities, LEVEL 2 - TEXTILES 2 : Contemporary Practice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

