PERSONAL RESEARCH – HISTORICAL TEXTILE TECHNIQUES SKETCHBOOK PAGES

HISTORICAL TEXTILE TECHNIQUES SKETCHBOOK PAGES

These are the pages of my sketchbook as the preparation for Exercise – Using traditional craft techniques. I needed to order all my cuttings and snippets properly so that I fully understood the subject.

PAGE 1 Embroidery'hand stitching

PAGE 1
Embroidery’hand stitching

PAGE 2 Construction methods

PAGE 2
Construction methods

PAGE 3 Construction methods

PAGE 3
Construction methods

PAGE 4 Printing/painting

PAGE 4
Printing/painting

PAGE 5 Printed wax resist

PAGE 5
Printed wax resist

 

PAGE 6 Batik/wax resist

PAGE 6
Batik/wax resist

PAGE 7  Other resist techniques - Shibori and paste etc

PAGE 7
Other resist techniques – Shibori and paste etc

PAGE 8 Shibori resist

PAGE 8
Shibori resist

PAGE 9 Starting to look at shibori techniques

PAGE 9
Starting to look at shibori techniques

PAGE 10 Looking at wrapping techniques for shibori

PAGE 10
Looking at wrapping techniques for shibori

PAGE 11 This is a triple page spread that I made so that I could lay it open fully when I was making my designs in order to see all the options that I thought I might try.

PAGE 11
This is a triple page spread that I made so that I could lay it open fully when I was making my designs in order to see all the options that I thought I might try.

PAGE 12, 13, 14, 15 4 pages of doodles of ideas

PAGE 12, 13, 14, 15
4 pages of doodles of ideas

PAGE 16 Recording the dye process 1

PAGE 16
Recording the dye process 1

PAGE 17 Recording the dye process 2

PAGE 17
Recording the dye process 2

PAGE 18 Some left over ends that I layered up and covered with acrylic wax to see if I could get some good transparency effects.

PAGE 18
Some left over ends that I layered up and covered with acrylic wax to see if I could get some good transparency effects.

This entry was posted in Project 3 - Craft and hand textiles, RESEARCH AND REFLECTION, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

