EXERCISE – Reusing and recycling – Samples – using sari waste

BRIEF –

  1.  Collect waste materials that I could recycle and reuse in my work – how to transform and add value.
  2. Make at least 4 samples
  3. Develop one to a successful piece.
  4. Write evaluation

I have decided to use sari waste and sari waste products for several reasons really. I’ve had these items in a stash box but have never used them making the idea of buying recycled items laughable really if I don’t ever use them. It is also exactly what it says it is, waste from sari production, often left over strips along the selvedge after a saris has been made. Too beautiful to waste. I have several kinds of waste as listed below.

  • Linen in plain colours ( with handwritten text – a bonus interesting feature indicating its true origins)
  • Sari ribbon  – torn strips  ( loose threads on edges)
  • Sari ribbon yarn – torn strips that have been bound
  • Sari trim edges
  • Sari squares
  • Shredded silk sari fibre – the real left over stuff ! The collected fluff at the end.

sketchbook pages with first ideas and thoughts on how I might use these products.

Some doodles to start me off....

Some doodles to start me off….

Starting to play around with strips...I then realised I didn't want to waste anymore so just got straight onto samples.

Starting to play around with strips…I then realised I didn’t want to waste anymore so just got straight onto samples.

SAMPLES

Sample 1 - Linen sari waste with the wonderful yellow marker pen hand writing giving it some real authenticity. I wanted to do more than just weave it.

Sample 1 – Linen sari waste with the wonderful yellow marker pen hand writing giving it some real authenticity. I wanted to do more than just weave it.

Sample 2 - Wanted to add some texture by adding flaps. The top half I used mainly the written strips to make a subtle difference between that and the more plain section at the bottom.

Sample 2 – Wanted to add some texture by adding flaps. The top half I used mainly the written strips to make a subtle difference between that and the more plain section at the bottom.

Sample 2 in detail

Sample 2 in detail

Sample 3 - Didn't work as I had wanted. I had made a drawing in my sketchbook (see above) where I had wanted a band of woven sari yarn and then something more loose at the bottom and these were some samples to see how it worked out. I realised I needed to weave it the other way, horizontally, to get a wide but short woven piece but I didn't have the equipment to do this. Probably not the required amount of sari yarn either.

Sample 3 – Didn’t work as I had wanted. I had made a drawing in my sketchbook (see above) where I had wanted a band of woven sari yarn and then something more loose at the bottom and these were some samples to see how it worked out. I realised I needed to weave it the other way, horizontally, to get a wide but short woven piece but I didn’t have the equipment to do this. Probably not the required amount of sari yarn either.

Sample 4 - sari chiffon waste from selvedge or end of roll and sari squares

Sample 4 – sari chiffon waste from selvedge or end of roll and sari squares

Sample 4 - found a section of translucent chiffon with "pure silk" text on ( but its not as I tested it and it melted it!) so I added a heavier pattern to the other side as contrast.

Sample 4 detail – found a section of translucent chiffon with “pure silk” text on ( but its not as I tested it and it melted it!) so I added a heavier pattern to the other side as contrast.

Sample 5 - using sari ribbon, sari ribbon yarn and some sari fibre.

Sample 5 – using sari ribbon, sari ribbon yarn and some sari fibre.

Sample 5 left detail

Sample 5 left detail

Sample 5 right detail

Sample 5 right detail

Sample 5 left detail - showing felt circles made from the shredded silk fibre and sari ribbon yarn on sari ribbon.

Sample 5 left detail – showing felt circles made from the shredded silk fibre and sari ribbon yarn on sari ribbon.

Sample 5 right detail - showing an upright section trapping the shredded silk sari fabric like a fringe and folds ( mainly because it was getting longer and longer !)

Sample 5 right detail – showing an upright section trapping the shredded silk sari fabric like a fringe and folds ( mainly because it was getting longer and longer !)

Sample 6  -Sari yarn and a central circle of plastic disc wrapped in sari yarn. The central section was needle embellished / felted with the shredded silk sari yarn. It adds some variety in textures I think.

Sample 6 -Sari yarn and a central circle of plastic disc wrapped in sari yarn. The central section was needle embellished / felted with the shredded silk sari yarn. It adds some variety in textures I think.

Sample 6 detail

Sample 6 detail

Sample 7 - Final sample. Interestingly I took a step back with this one and went with the "less is more" approach as it was all becoming quite vibrant, as you might expect with the sari silk fabrics. I arrived at this one by taking elements from some ot the others. I like the contrast between the needle felted more muted strips and the vibrant all singing and dancing stripes on the right. The fringe on the right is a nice detail and then to balance it up and as a nod towards Indian tradition I used sashima rings without the mirrors.

Sample 7 – Final sample. Interestingly I took a step back with this one and went with the “less is more” approach as it was all becoming quite vibrant, as you might expect with the sari silk fabrics. I arrived at this one by taking elements from some ot the others. I like the contrast between the needle felted more muted strips and the vibrant all singing and dancing stripes on the right. The fringe on the right is a nice detail and then to balance it up and as a nod towards Indian tradition I used sashima rings without the mirrors.

Sample 7 detail - showing the felted stripes and the fibre fringe on the left.

Sample 7 detail – showing the felted stripes and the fibre fringe on the left.

Sample 7 detail.

Sample 7 detail.

I went back to my sketchbook after I had made these samples and just made a few more notes on how I could have done things differently or developed further.

Sketchbook page 3 - recording further ideas before I forget them !

Sketchbook page 3 – recording further ideas before I forget them !

Sketchbook page 4 - how I might develop it further just using scanned copies for quick visuals.

Sketchbook page 4 – how I might develop it further just using scanned copies for quick visuals.

Sketchbook page - at the end I thought it might have been interesting to make some jewellery and kind of wished I had thought about it earlier ! Recording ideas for future use.

Sketchbook page – at the end I thought it might have been interesting to make some jewellery and kind of wished I had thought about it earlier ! Recording ideas for future use.

This entry was posted in 2 Exercise - Reusing and recycling, LEVEL 2 - TEXTILES 2 : Contemporary Practice, Project 2 - Reuse and recycling, TEXTILES 2 - PART 2 - Sustainable textiles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

