EXHIBITION – Knit and stitch show, Alexandra Palace, Oct 2012

Visit to London to the Knitting and Stitch show October 2012. Always ends up a very expensive day out but in return for my financial spend I am also rewarded with new ideas from seeing the work of others. Far too many photos to show here but I have posted some that are relevant to the Textiles from found materials section.

Hazel Bruce - 62 Group. Wonderful textile panels from collage materials.

Hazel Bruce – 62 Group. Wonderful textile panels from collage materials.

Hazel Bruce - detail

Hazel Bruce – detail


Jan Miller - part of the 62 Group.  "Binding cloth" - hand stitched textile constructed from retrieved linens from Abbey Court Hotel.

Jan Miller – part of the 62 Group. “Binding cloth” – hand stitched textile constructed from retrieved linens from Abbey Court Hotel.

Cas Holmes 1 - Always delights with her complex collages of found materials

Cas Holmes 1 – Always delights with her complex collages of found materials


Cas Holmes 2

Cas Holmes 2

Lyn Settrington - Part of Threads - very interesting as these are "pouches" ( not sure of the correct technique) made from plastic bags. What was interesting about this is that it wasn't until I got home and looked at my photo from a distance, without anyone in the way, did I see the message. See next photo.

Lyn Settrington – Part of Threads – very interesting as these are “pouches” ( not sure of the correct technique) made from plastic bags. What was interesting about this is that it wasn’t until I got home and looked at my photo from a distance, without anyone in the way, did I see the message. See next photo.

Lyn Settrington - "Been shopping" made from plastic bags - quite appropriate for my chosen message for textiles from found materials.

Lyn Settrington – “Been shopping” made from plastic bags – quite appropriate for my chosen message for textiles from found materials.

I, unfortunately, did not make a name of the artist for these samples but I liked the experimental approach of using our rubbish for art - it wasn't appreciated by all as I saw lots of husbands walking away shaking their heads in wonder !

I, unfortunately, did not make a name of the artist for these samples but I liked the experimental approach of using our rubbish for art – it wasn’t appreciated by all as I saw lots of husbands walking away shaking their heads in wonder !

This entry was posted in LEVEL 2 - Personal learning - Exhibitions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

