EXERCISE – Visual notes on sustainability 1

BRIEF – Start to develop the theme of sustainability in a visual way – images. magazine articles, samples of fabrics and fibres – write short comments.

Following are photos of my sketchbook pages illustrating my thoughts on textile sustainability.

Sketchbook page 1 - these were my initial thoughts, the kind of things that we think about normally everyday. Buying recycled, recycling plastic bottles and clothes, not sending stuff to landfill etc.

Sketchbook page 1 – these were my initial thoughts, the kind of things that we think about normally everyday. Buying recycled, recycling plastic bottles and clothes, not sending stuff to landfill etc.

Page 2 - Greenpeace print out highlighting the effects of toxic materials within the fashion industry

Page 2 – Greenpeace print out highlighting the effects of toxic materials within the fashion industry

 

Page 3 - I have used a newspaper fashion "wish list" to mount these images on as this is the kind of marketing that persuades us to keep buying more stuff that we don't actually need.

Page 3 – I have used a newspaper fashion “wish list” to mount these images on as this is the kind of marketing that persuades us to keep buying more stuff that we don’t actually need.

Page 4 - Examples of how recycling within the textile industry is explained to the next generation. These are copies of Year 9 DT info sheets.

Page 4 – Examples of how recycling within the textile industry is explained to the next generation. These are copies of Year 9 DT info sheets.

Page 5 - this has a fold down page that over laps - see Page 6 following. All about fashion. I have included some clothes labels to carry the message of the 6R's. I was quite pleased with this as some worked well - for example for Repair I used a tag with buttons on, for Reuse I used a tag that has a bracelet within the tag string and Recycle I used a tag from a company that has used recycled materials in the product.

Page 5 – this has a fold down page that over laps – see Page 6 following. All about fashion. I have included some clothes labels to carry the message of the 6R’s. I was quite pleased with this as some worked well – for example for Repair I used a tag with buttons on, for Reuse I used a tag that has a bracelet within the tag string and Recycle I used a tag from a company that has used recycled materials in the product.

With the fold over page

With the fold over page

Page 7 - Looking at the 6R's in more detail. Recycle and reuse.

Page 7 – Looking at the 6R’s in more detail. Recycle and reuse.

Page 8 - Page 7 - Looking at the 6R's in more detail. Reduce, Refuse, Rethink and Repair all on a backdrop of shoe mail order catalogue.

Page 8 – Looking at the 6R’s in more detail. Reduce, Refuse, Rethink and Repair all on a backdrop of shoe mail order catalogue.

Page 9 - Looking at sustainability in fibres for fabrics. Fabric samples.

Page 9 – Looking at sustainability in fibres for fabrics. Fabric samples.

Page 10 - Looking at sustainability in fibres.  These are slightly more unusual like nettle yarn, bamboo tops and pineapple.

Page 10 – Looking at sustainability in fibres. These are slightly more unusual like nettle yarn, bamboo tops and pineapple.

Page 11 - TED'S TEN. For such a worthwhile tool, 10 design prompt cards for good design, I found these incredibly hard to find extra information on once I had found it. Through various sources I managed to gather the concepts as I thought it would be very useful for me to use when thinking about the next project.

Page 11 – TED’S TEN. For such a worthwhile tool, 10 design prompt cards for good design, I found these incredibly hard to find extra information on once I had found it. Through various sources I managed to gather the concepts as I thought it would be very useful for me to use when thinking about the next project.

Page 12 - more of TED'S TEN  - I spaced these out so that I could add to them as and when I found more information.

Page 12 – more of TED’S TEN – I spaced these out so that I could add to them as and when I found more information.

Page 13 - more of TED'S TEN

Page 13 – more of TED’S TEN

Page 14 -More of TED's TEN

Page 14 -More of TED’s TEN

……………….
added 22/10/2013
samples of chipped bottles converted to polyester fibre.
recycling bottle to fleece
…………

This entry was posted in 3 Exercise - Visual notes on sustainability, Project 1 - Sustainability - lifecycle assessment, TEXTILES 2 - PART 2 - Sustainable textiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EXERCISE – Visual notes on sustainability 1

  1. An horrendous collection Penni – well done and all in one day.

    • iammessyme says:

      Like your humor ! Thank you. Took many hours to sort out and glue in. Had lots of information but making it all connect and relate and understanding the issues was complex and I was determined to understand it properly !!

Would welcome your thoughts and comments ....

